• This forum is currently in Read-Only mode and will not accept new threads, posts or responses.

To Sign Up for the New Forum, click here: https://www.cco.us/cco-forum/

ICD-9 or ICD-10 CPC Certification?

snowy

Hello. I'm a current student who will be graduating this October. By the time I prepare for the CPC exam it will be November. The only test date for the rest of 2015 is on 11/7 (at a site near me). That would leave me exactly three weeks to prepare, which I'm not sure is enough. Is it?

As of 1/1/2016, ICD-9 will no longer be taught or used on certification exams so should I take the ICD-9 exam in November and follow up with training and a proficiency test for ICD-10 or just wait until after January 1st and take the ICD-10 exam since ICD-9 will be obsolete? Will the ICD-9 certification still have relevance to an employer after ICD-10 is implemented?

It would seem an employer would prefer both, but since I'm clueless I could really use an opinion from someone who knows what they're talking about! Thanks.

Laureen

Queen Instructor
Staff member
Administrator
Blitzer
PBC Student (CPC®)
CCO Club Member
CCO Support Staff
MTA Student
ICD-10-CM Student
PPM Student (CPPM®)
FBC Student (CPC-H®)
Hi Snowy!

Yes we recommend ICD-9 until January - so test on that this November and take the ICD-10 proficiency right after and you'll be the best prepared. Those that are waiting for ICD-10 and not studying ICD-9 are doing themselves a disservice in our minds since we will be touching ICD-9 for years to come until it is completely phased out.

Happy studying!

Marylynn

Hi Laureen! I want to follow up on your reply for the CPC testing. Are All CPC testing for 2015 still on ICD-9? Then beginning, 01/01/2016, it will be ICD-10? Also, I would like to ask if I can use a CPT 2014 Professional Edition book, also a 2014 HCPCS II book if I plan to test this 2015 ? And how long is the wait time to re-take in case I missed the 1st time? Thank You for your reply, I appreciate it....